A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

Back to Tanking!

After a break from guild life, I have been exploring the world of Cataclysm.

Zaren, (my very first toon) started his existence in WoW as an Arms Warrior. To date he still has an Arms build, however, I haven’t had much time to explore it yet.

With the new expansion, I’m learning how to play my toons all over again. For me, that’s a good thing. I liked Tanking in
Burning Crusade, but didn’t get much opportunity to tank in the Wrath expansion. Now that Cataclysm is here, Zaren has been spending a lot of time tanking.

I try to read as much as I can about the new dungeons, but I work for a living and time is limited. Sometimes, you just have to “jump in and tank” as a friend of mine would say.

Forget that you may look stupid, unprepared, and get yelled at. A tank should be able to handle it and take charge. So.. I did!

Lucky for me, I’ve met some decent puggers on my first go around as tank in Cataclysm. Otherwise, I’m not too sure that I would like tanking as much as I do right now.

Seems that there must not be a whole lot of tanks out there, because I seen to get a dungeon group as soon as I click “find group.”

I can understand some tanks not wanting to tank, because of the abuse they get from the other toons that have waited for 30+ minutes for a tank to show up so they can play. GOD FORBID… you should make a mistake or not know EXACTLY what to do in any given situation EVEN THOUGH you have explained that you are still basically new to tanking at level 85.

I want to remind the Paladin, Death Knight, (etc.) that have dual specs that they could tank, but obviously want to sit back and not take any heat. It amazes me that these same players complain about the long wait times for dungeon groups, but they could have insta-ques like me if their skins where thicker.

Even with all the QQ’ng and jumping the gun some players seem to love to do, I enjoy tanking.

I love being able to set the pace. Identify and mark the mobs I want to kill and in what order. I also like looking out for my group and keeping them from being one-shotted by the big bad mob. I guess I’m a protector. That’s probably why I have a priest also at level cap.

Yes, life is good as a tank! Now, if I could only get my puggers to stick with the marked mob!

But that’s another blog…

Leave a Reply

