A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

See??? That’s what I get…

landed

Yesterday evening, I pugged a Heroic Grim Batol.

Zaren had done a bunch of random queues as “tank” that night with hopes that a set of ilevel 346 tanking shoulders to drop to replace my current shoulders.

However, it was the end of my evening and I just wanted to relax and do a little pew pew or BAM BAM! (Since he’s melee)

I queued Zaren as dps…RELAX…this isn’t another one of those “…and the piece I wanted dropped and I couldn’t have it” rants.

Over the last month, I have picked up quite a few dps pieces. When I’m tanking I don’t roll on dps pieces, but if I notice that the only plate wearing dps toons in the run have much better gear I will ask to need on dps equipment for Offspec. I had a pretty decent set considering the lack of time spent dpsing.

Anyway!! The reason I’m splattered on the ground like that is:

Seems when I dps, I have more time to see what’s going on around me. As the group was flying the drakes on the bombing run at the beginning of Grim Batol, I actually paid attention to the environment.

The lower level of Grim Batol looked so peaceful and serene! I wondered what it was like down there. It looked so much like Ironforge that I felt I knew the place like the back of my hand. (Yes, Zaren was originally Alliance..don’t judge me!) That’s when I had my wonderful idea!

After we finished the instance, all the mobs would be gone and I could stroll the concourses safely! It would be just like those older Tankspot.com videos where they would show you the dungeon layout and there were no mobs around!

So I said farewell to the pug and waited for the last one to disappear and headed for the railings!

I had been playing around with the Warrior’s Heroic Leap! I would have Zaren jump from very high places and use Heroic Leap to escape fall damage. Had been working pretty good too!

I would target the ground somewhere off to the side and cast Heroic Leap just before I hit the ground. I would land safely and with no damage…..Cool!!

I Even tried it after dismounting my flying mount from up high and it worked!

I positioned myself on the rail carefully…
I targeted the landing below…
And I jumped so my trajectory would make me land somewhere away from the lava …
I was a few feet from landing when I cast Heroic Leap, and the next thing I knew…

I was dead!

Apparently, they either hot fixed the “no damage” glitch on Heroic Leap..OR..the lower level of Grim Batol is all glowing red because it is extremely HOT down there! OR I just misjudged the distance to the ground… I don’t know!

Maybe I need read more Lore or Patch Notes, but hey…Don’t judge me!!!

Any that’s what I get for being curious!

3 responses

  1. The_Warlock

    Ha…that’s what you get, n00b.

    March 18, 2011 at 2:39 PM

  2. Leit

    Given the buggy state of Heroic Leap, I’d not rule out the idea that you may have simply been on the receiving end of some bad luck there.

    Have you tried exploring under the HoO elevator yet?

    March 22, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    • realgdman4u

      No, but I will the next time I complete that one! Thanks for replying!

      March 22, 2011 at 10:44 AM

Leave a Reply

