A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

Why Do We Play WoW?

Victoriafr @ Sylvanas posed several questions to everyone out there interested in World of Warcraft. Here are my responses:

When and why did you start to play World of Warcraft?

I started playing WoW a few months after the BC expansion (The Burning Crusade) hit the shelves.

I was complaining to a friend of mine that I go through my Playstation games too quickly. One of my favorites was the Ace Commander series, however, I bested them within a week if I spent any amount of time on them.

Then my friend told me about WoW. He was still playing Warcraft, but hadn’t made the switch to WoW. He told me that WoW was basically unending and that I could play with millions (5-6 at the time) of players day or night. I bought a copy, waited patiently for the patches to load and created a toon finally at midnight. A few days later, I was coming into work with a brace on my hand. Worth every penny! 🙂

Side Note:

I actually played Vanilla Wow first.  I saw a copy of the Burning Crusade and bought it not knowing I needed Vanilla Wow first.  So I bought a copy and had to play from level 1-60 before enjoying BC.  WoW veterans can remember how difficult that was to do back then.  No mounts till 40…no flying…gold was hard to come by and reputation points were rationed severely!

Where do you draw the line between casual and hardcore?
I draw the line at being Hardcore when you’ve injured yourself playing a computer game! (not to mention using a big gulp cup to stay in raid verses walking 10 feet to the bathroom.  Am I speaking from personal experience?  I’ll never tell.  :p

Do you consider yourself addicted to World of Warcraft?
Am I addicted to WoW? Yes, but not as much! It’s getting warmer and RL is keeping me grounded. I have multiple alts to maintain when I do find a moment here and there.

What does your boyfriend/girlfriend say when you’re “raiding” 5 days a week?
I haven’t been in a “raiding” guild in almost a year. The guild I’m in now is casual raiding once or twice a week, so my wife doesnt complain as long as I give her attention. She didn’t complain about a 5 night raiding schedule as long as we had “date night” every other weekend. ❤

Have you tried other MMORPGs, which ones?
I have tried Star Trek Online, but it paled to WoW. It really just needed some more development. Stopped playing it May of 2010. Wanted to try Rift, but it would feel like cheating on a spouse. Is that wrong?

2 responses

  1. theerivs

    I’m always intrigued by other peoples gaming habits, and thoughts on gaming. I might even do one of these myself…

    June 8, 2011 at 3:41 PM

  2. Pingback: Let’s talk about my favorite topic: Me « A High Latency Life

Leave a Reply

