A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

A Picture Says a Thousand Words

So Much Has Happened

 

 After a long day at work, I sat down to my computer to relax.  I loaded WoW and decided to give my Shaman, Dgilbert, some more attention.  (her jewelcrafting will save me some gold down the line)  She had recently dinged 68, so I got her cold weather flying ability from the trainer and rushed out to Northrend. 

When the loading screen appeared, it hit me how there are so many things that new WoW players have missed out on. 

My wife asked me if that was the Lich King that I used to talk about.  I said, “Yes, and No.” 

My wife has gotten snippets from me of the goings on of the game during the Wrath of the Lich King expansion, (she’s now showing more interest in the game) but I found that just explaining the first picture was going to take a bit of time to explain.   This would take away from my “relax time”, but I enjoy when she wants to know more about the game I love.  As they say.  A picture is worth a thousand words! 🙂

Of course we know that the first picture is the Great Tirion Fordring who took the Lich King crown after the defeat of Lich King Arthas.  (There must always be a Lich King) 

She asked why he looks like that.   And I told her that he consumed and was changed by the fires from the Red Dragonflight used to cleanse the area of a plague unleashed by the forsaken. (Of course I explained the back story, but I’m not typing all that)

She apparently never saw or paid attention to this loading screen back when I played the Lich King expansion:

 

 Go to Northrend and you won’t see this picture load again. 

This guy was the reason I logged on for so many hours.  To level my character to get a chance to fight this smug Son of A @#$%&*.

So I explained to her why there must be a Lich King and why the first loading screen is really a sad reminder of a time gone by rather than an inspiration for the gameplay that is about to happen.

But for a new player, this will be totally missed. 

And maybe that’s why so many veteran WoW players get burned out and leave the game.  You get ready to play and the loading screen shows you where you are about to enter the world then the memories of how difficult it used to be pop into your head.  And even though you’re rolling and alternate character that is at the appropriate level for this content . . . it will NEVER be to same experience.  All the wonder is gone, cause you learned to play several characters (hopefully) and know the basic mechanics.  So basically the REAL challenge of learning on the fly is gone.

We all remember HATING to see the Deadmines loading screen, right? (or whatever your dreaded dungeon was)   My experience as a tank was seeing that smug bastard then joining a group and seeing this loading screen:

As a Warrior Tank, I HATED THAT PLACE with a passion!!!  I had difficulty with AOE threat and over zealous Dps!  Ugh!

New players will not know that uneasiness, because it will just be another leveling zone.  And even if they experience some sort of awe in the design and play of this zone, it will NEVER compare to what we experienced when the zone was relevent.

Personally, I love World of Warcraft.  I hope it never ends!  While I guess I will eventually find no challenge in the game in the future, but I can see myself logging on and exploring and rolling class and race combinations that I haven’t fully explored yet.

Well, enough with the buzz kill . . . . time to attack Northrend from the other side of the continent this time!  Weeeeeeee!

2 responses

  1. Hi Zaren, I just found your blog and wanted to thank you for the link. I hope you’re successful in getting your wife to try WoW. I’ve been trying to get my husband to play since 2006 and still no luck!

    August 10, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    • Thanks for stopping by! Always good to meet another blogger! 🙂

      August 10, 2011 at 7:45 PM

Leave a Reply

