A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

Should Children (really) Play World of Warcraft?

Putting the “addiction argument” asside, should little Billy play WoW?

World of Warcraft is rated “Teen,” but I think it should be rated:

“OIFYCKYMS” for “Only IF You Can Keep Your Mouth Shut!”

I can remember many times when I was in a pug and one (or more) of the group members go off on some childish tangent for the entire run about Chuck Norris or whatever.

Don’t get me wrong I like Walker Texas Ranger as much as anyone, but I don’t see why trade chat and general chat will have seemingly endless conversations about the man.

OR while grouped with some players, someone suddenly starts an argument by calling someone gay or making racial slurs.  To me that’s the sign of immaturity.  That and the constant jumping around all over the place (like a crackhead) while we get strategies together.

Also, I don’t say anything online that I wouldn’t say in person.  That’s just me. 

An immature individual uses the annonymity of the internet to berate and abuse other people.  Or maybe it’s just an opportunity to say those curse words you’re not allowed to say.  Can’t run outside and scream them at the top of you lungs??  Log into an MMO and sit in a capital city and scream to your heart’s content.  That’ll show them!

And yes, I may be naive to believe that I should be able to play an online game without having to hear racial slurs and kids calling someone else a homo or whatever to feel better about themselves or convince themselves that maybe THEY are not gay.

What restrictions would I put in place?  I guess it doesn’t matter what rating or restrictions you put on a game.  The underaged will always find a way in.  It’s just bad enough to have adult a$$hats than to have little 8 year old Billy pretending to be an adult one.  I personally think that (During Lich King) when the novelty wore off with Death Knights, kids started playing thier parent’s DKs. 

Makes sense, right?  Level 55 character (that was overpowered) ready to go!  Junior won’t have to spend time leveling and can join us after a short leveling run! Nice?  NO! 

 Problem with that was he didn’t have to learn to play!  He breezed thru level content until 70ish and bored and berated other players for not being as Uber as he/she.  THEN when real skill was needed, most failed myserably!  No, you can’t Tank and Heal yourself through the dungeon solo.   Yes you do need other players and guess what?  The other players are NOT NPC’s, so WATCH YOU MOUTH!    Ahem . . . sorry!

I also don’t pay $15 to babysit. 

FOR EXAMPLE:  I was in a guild where the Guild Leader was a mom and let her 8 year old son play on one of her other accounts.  It was fine for a bit until he tried to level up using dungeon content.  Most of the guildies didn’t have low level toons to run with him, so we would end up killing everything and he’d just collect loot. (that was fine too)  However, he would make constant request for help and grouping up.  A lot of us guildies felt uneasy, cause he is the Guild Leaders son and you don’t want drama with the Guild Leader.

There was even an occasion when some of us were asked why we didn’t help her son out.  The fact that some of us are casual and wanted to level our professions or just do a few dailies that her son couldn’t seemed to make no difference to her.  I mean it’s one thing to help out now and then.  Besides, when the Guild Leader was on, SHE was in a dungeon (suitable for her character) or doing what she wanted without the offspring.

Some people worry about the violence factor with games.  Guess what?  If you have to kill something, ya ain’t gonna do it with kindess.  Violence is required.

What’s really issue the not being able to control Billy’s attitude.  Giving him a venue that has no real consequence for his rudeness will not help you mold him into a civil useful member of society. 

Billy wants to roll with the big dogs and throw insults around?  Keep him offlline until he can get a job and buy his OWN copy of the game and pay montly subscription fees. This  will give parents a wider window of opportunity to reign in little Billy’s attitude and social skills.

Not all kids are bad!  I quested with a kid player for a while before I even got a clue he was a kid. 

You Again??

My first clue was that he ALWAYS wanted to join my group even though I had outleved his current content.  When I was five levels higher that he, he followed me out to an area that should have had him making corpse runs.  However, Blizzard had made all the mobs neutral (used to be hostile) in this area, so there he was. 

THEN, he wanted to attack a mob 2 levels higher than me!  He said we could handle it.  I told him “DON’T” but before I could type it he had pulled.  We both died and he thought it was the coolest thing!  Plus, he said “kid like stuff ” and when I asked him how old he was, he said 9!  Needless to say, we didn’t group up much after that. 

I guess I felt uneasy running with someone so young, but I could imagine his Mom asking who I was and how old I am.  I don’t want to be painted as a creep, so I grouped with friends I know personally. 

Yet another reason kids shouldn’t play a game adults play too.  Wasn’t the kid’s fault.  Just there is a potential for kids to meet the wrong type of people out there and I wouldn’t want my kid communitcating with some old guy for days online without my supervision.

I initially bought WoW to have fun and relax.  Now it seems there are so many reasons to find some way to relax after playing the game.

Serenity Now  . . .

Leave a Reply

