A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

Transmogrification . . . Thanks, I Think?

Blizzard has released what Transmogrification is all about:

“The Ethereals, emerging from the nether, will bring with them a new technology they call Transmogrification. They’re heading to the capital cities of Azeroth to set up shop and to offer adventurers a unique service — copying the appearance of one magical item onto another. They only ask for a modest gold donation to recoup their costs.”

“Visiting a Transmogrifier will present players with a new interface that will allow them to change the appearance of an item while retaining its original stats. “

I like the idea of changing my armor to look like an armor set I previously loved but with the stats for the current level of gear I am wearing.

I have always loved the Dreadnaught Battlegear from the old 40-man Naxxramas Dungeon.

Putting the old stats and bonuses aside, I loved the color, the skulls and animation that this tier 3 set for Warriors had. 

Unfortunately, I didn’t do any real Raiding until after the realsease of The Burning Crusade expansion.  I wished I could form a raid with my alt and just solo what I needed, but alas, my Warrior, Zaren, would never have the honor of wearing the Dreadnaught Battlegear!

With the release of Wrath and Naxxramas moving to Northrend, a friend told me that there would be a Dreadnaught set available.  I was estatic!!  Zaren was at the appropriate level for the content and in a guild that was ready to run Nax!  JOY!!!

Alas, it would not be the same.  The Dreadnaught’ Battlegear had much better stats, but it’s animation and styling seemed watered down.  (to me at least)

IN comes Transmogrification!  Now I can make my current set look like Dreadnaught . . .

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

You have to HAVE in your possession the gear that you want your current gear to look like????  AAARRRGGHHH!

Anyway it probably will be a good option for a horder that has several sets of gear clogging up his/her bank. 🙂  I used to be that way too!  All through Burning Crusade, and Wrath, I had several gear sets that I kept for sentimental reasons I guess.  Besides, I spent WAY too much time and effort to get them, can’t cash them in, and did not plan to delete them.

Until Cataclysm came.  New talent trees, new mechanics, new stat weights. . . seemed like I would never wear my old gear sets ever again.  So I deleted them! 😦

Who knew Blizzard would come up with this idea AND JUST AFTER I deleted my old gear sets???

Blizzard used to cling to the silhouette theory that you can’t change the cosmetic look of your gear because you should be able to identify a character’s class and race by the silhouette of said player’s gear.  Now they’ve thrown that out the window essentially!

Well, I guess I can craft an Imperial Plate Armor set, grab my Aegis of Stormwind Shield from my bank along with my Stormwind Tabard and walk around Stormwind pretending to be a Stormwind Troop.  Could be interesting in a dungeon especially on the Horde side! 🙂

I personally would like an advanced version of Character Creation/Editing.

This way, I can customize my characters body features and dimensions. 

And NO, I would not be the guy that would want the slide bar for “Chest” and then make all my female characters Double D Bimbos. . . hmmm . .

SHE IS NOT A BIMBO! I JUST REALLY LIKE GO DADDY!

🙂

I would also REALLY like to be able to change the color of my gear rather than make it look like an old gear set I used to have.  And yes, I would make all my gear Black . . . cause it’s cool!

But I guess beggars can’t be choosers!  And with Blizzard Entertainment I guess the formula for change is to complain about something for years and eventually you’ll sort of get what you want! 🙂

I’d be interested in what everyone else thinks of the changes!

2 responses

  1. EscapistFred

    What kind of gear do you plan on rolling with, lookwise?
    I’m leaning towards Heroism, I’ve had the upgraded valor lying around for ages and ages. I’m a sucker for the retro feel of vanilla gear. Considering tier “2.5” as well. Aq40 insectoid ❤

    August 21, 2011 at 4:38 AM

    • For my Tauren Warrior, I will probably start with the Imperial Plate for kicks. Unfortunately, I destroyed all the sets I had prior to Cataclysm.

      For my Death Knights, I will copy their starting sets, because I really like the styling.

      For my Clothies. . . . I’m not sure yet.

      For my Rogue, I will probably go with the Blackened Defias Armor Set.

      August 21, 2011 at 8:18 AM

Leave a Reply

