A Burning Crusade Tank trying to make it in the Mists!

Break ups . . . they never go well

Warning:  THIS IS A RANT (so if you don’t like rants, move on)

I’ve read and watched some blogs today that talk about the downfall of World of Warcraft.

Yes, obviously I’m still in love with the game.  So it is aging, (Eve Online is older) but maybe . . just maybe . .it’s ok?!

 A lot of people (that have played WoW since Vanilla and Burning Crusade) have complained about the game and why they decided to quit WoW.

In a way, I can understand.  If you play anything for YEARS and you don’t get the thrill from it anymore, quit!  No one is forcing you to play or keep your subscription.

My thing is that all the negativity eventually affects the NEW players.  You know, the people who are actually enjoying the newness of this OLD game.  It’s bad enough trying to get to level cap without all the “veteran” know-it-all telling them about how terrible the game is compared to how it used to be.  Endless blog post and video blogs about the decline of World of Warcraft. 

 And you know what?

GOOD RIDDANCE!

You played a game you once liked and you don’t anymore.  Fine.  Leave. 

But keep the negativity to yourself and let the new players have the game!  We are so sorry that your uber talents can’t be challenged anymore!  But you don’t have to bash it as you leave or afterwards!   You’re done now.  You have your “life” that you’re not gonna waste time with anymore . . . go do it!

To me, its like bashing an ex-girlfriend you dated for a number of years and calling her a skank!  

QUESTION(S):

1. Was she a skank when you met her? 
2. If she became a skank as time went on, why didn’t you leave sooner?
3. At some point this skank was very attractive to be with, wasn’t it?
4. If you hated spending so much time with your skank, why not create some outside interest?  The skank will always be there!
5.  If she stopped being skanky, (new expansion) how long till you call her a skank again?
6.  Can she ever re-kindle your fondness of her knowing her previous skankness?

If you were talking about a person, all this would seem harsh.

 But WoW is a game with no feelings.  As long as enough people enjoy playing it, the game will survive no matter how anyone verbally bashes it.

However, it doesn’t mean that you can’t go back and play at some point.  I (and a lot of people won’t judge you)

What gets me is that people who say they hate WoW and quit it act like someone forced it into their veins.  YOU as a player decided to play and yes…become addicted.  It’s been years.  You’ve built up a tolerance.

That’s not the games fault.

If someone plays WoW and decides it’s not for them (even after 5-6 years), just count it as one of life’s lessons.   You liked it and now you don’t.  And if it was so BAD…DON’T DO IT AGAIN. 

But MAN UP and acknowledge that you create your own happiness or sadness and a game, Blizzard Entertainment, your internet provider,  & God really OWES you nothing.

I was surprised to see how many people have videos that “prove” they quit World of Warcraft.

WHO CARES???? 

In a way I guess the creators of the game should be happy not only for the game’s success, but that it touched so many lives in so many ways.

Someone once told me that if something or someone didn’t matter it would not make you very happy or very upset.  It just wouldn’t matter.

How World of Warcraft touched your life is how you interpret it. 

Waste of time that could be used constructively elsewhere, or an enjoyable form of entertainment.  (Which is Blizzards last name) 🙂

7 responses

  1. As much as I rant about the game I wouldn’t continue playing if it was all a negative experience for me. I can see why some people would get burned out and stop playing but thankfully I haven’t hit that yet. Yes there are some down periods, but I always end up back. There is so much I still want to do with the game, I guess it helps that I play so many different alts so there is always something new to do.

    August 29, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    • Ahmen brother!

      Even if the subscriber base makes a mass exodus, I can see myself just logging on to run around and do whatever. I just like the game and the make up of it. It would become a game I do to solely pass the time. And thats ok with me.

      August 30, 2011 at 6:39 AM

  2. “My thing is that all the negativity eventually affects the NEW players. You know, the people who are actually enjoying the newness of this OLD game. It’s bad enough trying to get to level cap without all the “veteran” know-it-all telling them about how terrible the game is compared to how it used to be. Endless blog post and video blogs about the decline of World of Warcraft.”

    Great article! As a noob to WoW, I’d started to hear from WoW veterans about the perceived decline – I made a conscious choice to NOT go hunting for the nay-saters, preferring to make up my own mind without predjudice – and I’m loving it so far!

    August 31, 2011 at 3:14 AM

    • Good to hear it!
      Yes, let the newbees enjoy the old game!
      Let them be in awe of the graphics they haven’t seen elsewhere or for the simple fact that they just enjoy the game.
      Thats the way it should be!

      August 31, 2011 at 10:57 AM

  3. Krisna Mage

    lol at the skank analogy

    September 7, 2011 at 4:38 PM

    • Thanks! Reminded me of a time when a friend was bad mouthing an ex-girlfriend.

      September 7, 2011 at 9:45 PM

  4. Pingback: WoW Love Gone Wrong « Tome of the Ancient

Leave a Reply

